Image

A Little Background

Pazour

A Little Background

To introduce myself as a researcher and as a teacher, I thought it might be helpful to share a little bit about my background and interests.  I’m an engineer, so how about a numbered list?

  1. I have a cool job.  Some of the perks include getting paid to learn, having autonomy in my research endeavors, and collaborating with great people.
  2. I am amazed by the simplicity and elegance of math and its ability to explain so many systems of the world.
  3. In elementary school, my class consisted of a total of 3 students (yes, that’s counting me).  I attended a 2-room country school a few miles from where I grew up in rural South Dakota.  The best part about this little country school on the Great Plains was that liking school was cool, which I believe is a foundation for a really great education.
  4. I like efficiency and logic.
  5. One of the best things about working in higher education is meeting all the amazing people from around the world.  I love learning about the different cultures, customs, politics, and religions.  Having a multinational set of friends and colleagues has greatly improved my cultural understanding of the world and its wonderful inhabitants.
  6. I tend to be a fairly private person, so bear with me as I begin on this voyage of telling the digital world about my research and teaching interests.
One response to “A Little Background

  1. Excellent Jen, I agree that IE has a marketing problem. At the VA we have trained 10,000 people. However that’s out of 200,000 workers. So we still have a huge amount of educational opportunities ahead of us. Actually I just facilitated a team on how to get folks at the VA to work with our group. About half the suggestions boiled down to marketing!

    –Cyrus

Leave a Reply

